Trudeau Appoints New Cabinet

Posted: 2019-11-20 14:31:33 By: hbr

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau unveiled a new cabinet this afternoon, and promises to tackle climate change and promote middle-class prosperity, while attempting to soothe regional tensions exacerbated by last month’s election outcome.

Chrystia Freeland moves from Global Affairs to deputy prime minister and minister in charge of intergovernmental affairs.  BC MP Jonathan Wilkinson, formerly fisheries minister, to take on the environment portfolio.  Wilkinson was born in Saskatchewan.  MP Jim Carr, who is being treated for cancer, is no longer in cabinet, has been appointed as “special representative for the Prairies.

Bill Morneau remains finance minister and MP Pablo Rodriguez, formerly Canadian Heritage minister, takes on the crucial role of government House leader.

For a list of cabinet members, see below:

Chrystia Freeland - deputy prime Minister and Minister of intergovernmental affairs

Anita Anand - Minister of public services and procurement

Navdeep Bains  -  Minister of innovation, science and industry

Carolyn Bennett  -  Minister of Crown-Indigenous relations

Marie-Claude Bibeau  -  Minister of agriculture and agri-food

Bill Blair  -  Minister of public safety and emergency preparedness

Bardish Chagger  -  Minister of diversity and inclusion and youth

Francois-Philippe Champagne  -  Minister of foreign affairs

Jean-Yves Duclos  -  president of the Treasury Board

Mona Fortier  -  Minister of middle-class prosperity and associate Minister of finance

Marc Garneau  -  Minister of transport

Karina Gould  -  Minister of international development

Steven Guilbeault  -  Minister of Canadian heritage

Patty Hajdu  -  Minister of health

Ahmed Hussen  -  Minister of families, children and social development

Melanie Joly  -  Minister of economic development and official languages

Bernadette Jordan  -  Minister of fisheries, oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard

David Lametti  -  Minister of justice and attorney general

Dominic LeBlanc  -  president of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada

Diane Lebouthillier  -  Minister of national revenue

Lawrence MacAulay  -  Minister of veterans affairs and associate Minister of national defence

Catherine McKenna  -  Minister of infrastructure and communities

Marco Mendicino  -  Minister of immigration, refugees and citizenship

Marc Miller  -  Minister of Indigenous services

Maryam Monsef  -  Minister for women and gender equality and rural economic development

Bill Morneau  -  Minister of finance

Joyce Murray  -  Minister of digital government

Mary Ng  -  Minister of small business, export promotion and international trade

Seamus O’Regan  -  Minister of natural resources

Carla Qualtrough  -  Minister of employment, workforce development and disability inclusion

Pablo Rodriguez  -  leader of the government in the House of Commons

Harjit Sajjan  -  Minister of national defence

Deb Schulte  -  Minister of seniors

Filomena Tassi  -  Minister of labour

Dan Vandal  -  Minister of northern affairs

Jonathan Wilkinson  -  Minister of environment and climate change